Crock pot Chili with Cornbread

Don’t you just love coming home to the smell of dinner cooking?

A crock pot is the best way to eat healthy while saving time and money, and mine is my best friend in the kitchen. Except maybe my Krinkle Kutter from the Pampered Chef. And my cast iron skillets. And my marinator. And my coffee press.

Anyway, here is a family favorite that satisfies:

brown 1/2 half pound of ground chuck or bison

carmelize an onion (brown it along with the meat if you like)

add the above to the crock pot

add 1 quart jar of diced tomatoes (or two cans) to your crock pot

add 2 cans of tomato sauce to the crock pot

add a fistful of garlic powder, a fistful of chili powder, and a fistful of cumin powder

and anywhere from a dash to a fistful of cayenne pepper, depending on how brave you are

~~let this cook all day and keep your paws off the cooker~~

one or two hours before serving:

sift together 1 cup of yellow cornmeal, 1/2 cup all purpose flour, 1 tsp salt and 1 TBSP baking powder into a bowl, stir.

In a separate bowl:

whisk 1 cup of kefir (or buttermilk) with 1/2 cup millk and 1 egg.

add 1/2 tsp baking soda to the liquid mixture

add 1/4 cup melted butter to the liquid mix

Slowly add the the liquid to the mixed dry ingredients and mix only until combined. Be sure not to overmix!

Spoon the cornbread mixture over the cooked chili and let cook for another hour or two, (on high)

for another hour or two, depending on your crock pot strength.

(If you have a different, favorite cornbread recipe, by all means use the one you like the most, but do try the above …so you know)

Autograph their napkins, and try to avoid the paparazzi.

About msfitmedic
Native Cherokee wife and mom of 4 sons. I work in a hospital as a personal trainer and fitness leader, and also in the Emergency Dept. as a tech and nursing student. I believe in a more holistic approach to what I am being taught, but in order to practice legally, I have to have the letters and the papers behind my name. So I invite you to join me in my adventures of learning and working in the fields of critical, emergency care, as well as the fitness and wellness arena. You might even find yourself in my indoor or outdoor kitchen from time to time to see what's cooking, or what sort of counter culture is growing. Buckle up!

2 Responses to Crock pot Chili with Cornbread

  1. Yum Yucky says:

    you just don’t know how happy my eyeballs get everytime I look at that picture. I will have to try this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

